The One Where Carla Tells You How She Spends Too Much Money On Concert Tickets…

Hi! My  name is Carla and I’ve known Karin for going on… 7, 8, 9 years? I’ve honestly lost count. What brought us together was a love for fiber arts and the crafting of words; two things I still love, but find very little time these days to enjoy. Karin tells me that I’ll finish my book someday… I wish I had her faith!

These days when I’m not working 70-80 hours a week, I’m taking time off to chase my favorite band around, The Avett Brothers. While I typically only get to 5 or 6 shows a year, some of those are days long runs of shows, or ones where I travel a fair distance. Like last month? A three day run at the historic Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, New York. Last weekend? One show at Brewery Ommegang in Cooperstown, NY, home to sleep, then 2 hours in the opposite direction to catch them after a Philadelphia Phillies game. I’m not obsessed or anything, I mean it’s not like I’m trying to convince myself that I can afford to see them in Mexico next year. No, really, I am.. but that’s a story for another time.
Usually when I’m sitting outside the venue waiting with my fellow Avett Guild members (we get early entry to the venue,) I’m sometimes knitting a sock, or reading a book, and sometimes I’m just trying to stay warm and chat with friends.

Since I brought up reading, I’m currently reading The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.


I’m only one quarter of the way into it and I already know this is a must read for anyone wanting to understand what’s going on right now in our country with race. I plan to urge my children to read this as well.

Thank you, Karin, for giving me this space this week! I promise to make time for writing… since I don’t have another show to attend until September 🙂

This entry was posted in Books, Guest post and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The One Where Carla Tells You How She Spends Too Much Money On Concert Tickets…

  1. naelany says:

    Thanks for being my guest, Carla. And yes, I have faith that you’ll finish your book 🙂 And I’m looking forward to reading it when you do 🙂 Going to concerts sounds like fun. So when you go chase venues, do you get the chance to actually meet the band as well?

    Like

Leave a Reply

