Guest Post!

Hi all!

Let me start by introducing myself. My name’s Melissa, and I’m a college English instructor, fangirl, yarn person (knitting and crochet), musician, and when I have time, a home cook.

I’m a part time instructor, which sadly doesn’t mean I only work sometimes; I teach or tutor five days a week (with meetings on the sixth) at four different community colleges in Northern California. It’s exhausting, but mostly I love it. Sadly, this leaves me little time for things like my hobbies.

I’m currently working on the Something Gradient This Way Comes Shawl (ravelry link:):

Making some progress on #somethinggradientthiswaycomes while my parents watch baseball. #knitting #wip.jpg

The yarn is by Magpie Fibers; it’s their Swanky Sock in Pinball Wizard and Night Train, which I picked up this year at Stitches West. It was the first time I went when I was able to take classes, and I loved it. I’m looking forward to taking the weekend off against next year and taking more classes and learning more things.

I decided on the sock yarn variant, though since I’m liking how easy it is, that I’ll probably work up the DK version for my mom at some point. It pretty much fits my definition of “mindless knitting.” It’s not a complicated pattern, so it was easy to memorize, and it’s still pretty portable at about half-done.

I’m also working on the Knit Picks Hue Shift Afghan

File_002.jpeg

File_001.jpeg

It was supposed to be a baby shower gift, but I underestimated how long it was going to take to make all those little squares. At least they’re worked joined, so I don’t have to stitch them together like granny squares! I hate that part.

I wasn’t sure about the pastel color scheme, but as the first of the four blocks comes together, it’s starting to make a bit more sense.

I’ve also recently been into making summer drink sets:

Student was teasing me about my crocheted coffee cup sleeve and coaster. But my desk doesn't have wet rings all over it and my hands aren't cold. #coffee #dutchbros #crochet #handmade.jpg

These are a crocheted coffee cup jacket that fits grande through trenta size cups at Starbucks, and Dutch Bros medium and large iced cups. The cotton granny square coaster keeps condensation rings off surfaces, and the cup jacket keeps your hands from freezing on your cool beverage. You can find other examples in my etsy shop. My shop does need to be updated, so if you’re interested in what I’ve got that’s not there, just contact me.

Because I’m busy with school (the semester is almost over!) I haven’t been reading much. I’m following the graphic novel Check Please! This means I’ve also somehow gotten sucked into the world of hockey. I’ve been watching “my” two teams in the Playoffs, The San Jose Sharks (“home town” team) and the Washington Capitals (the first team I saw on TV and I liked them). I went to my first live game with my best friend from college a couple of weeks ago and I loved it. I wish I lived closer to San Jose and/or that I didn’t teach evening classes so I could go to games more often next season.

I do have a great summer reading list planned, though. After my community concert band gets back from playing at Carnegie Hall this summer (!), I have a stack of reading I want to do in between teaching my two summer classes. At the top of the list is PK Dick’s The Man in the High Castle, because I binge watched the series on Amazon and loved it. I’m also scheduled to teach another introduction to critical thinking through literature class next semester, and I’ve been on a bit of a dystopian literature kick; I’ve got a few other things to explore to add to my syllabus, like The British Lion, and The Parable of the Sower. I just taught The Handmaid’s Tale this semester, so I’m looking forward to binge watching the series on Hulu when the semester is over.

That’s really all there is. I’m pretty boring, but feel free to stalk me around the web. I’m on Instagram, Twitter, and Tumblr as knitwritezombie, and I mostly ramble about yarn, cooking (when I have a chance), and how much I wish the semester was over despite really loving being a teacher.

This entry was posted in Books, Crochet, Guest post, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest Post!

  1. naelany says:

    You’re pretty busy, is what you are. I’m amazed you manage to get as much reading and crafting in as you do. *hugs*. Thanks so much for being my guest, sweets.

    Like

Leave a Reply

