Just a domestic(ally) challenged diva

12391205_10100204200962111_8869448434160618894_n

Don’t let the whisk fool you…

Hi. I am Sarah, aka sariedee in the land of the internet.  Married. Mom of two.  I have spent most of my time as a mother (6 1/2 years) in school full time, but I started back working full time two months ago.  Which means all time for crafting is gone.  I spend most of my time reading slash fanfic or in the black hole of Tumblr on my tiny iPhone screen until I fall asleep each night (aren’t I exciting?).  I even once had a blog with a title very similar to this post.  See, the thing with me is this-I have brilliant ideas!  I just can’t always make them come to fruition.  It is like this with food (though I have gotten much better), writing (I can plot bunny like no one else, just can’t get the stories going), and art (sadly this isn’t my forte).   I even had a mini meltdown trying to figure out how to guest post here and Karin had to talk me down from the ledge. *edited to say: once I started, I couldn’t stop and I had to delete a few things!*

I like to plan out things, like pictures of my daughter and coordinating outfits for my children, small scale interior decorating for my home, and reading.  I have recently started tackling my overflowing bookshelf and tbr list.  The last book I read was Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare.  Next up is Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan.  I am two years late reading that one.  I also read A LOT of fanfiction, now strictly in the One Direction fandom (I know, I know), but it has been a while since I read anything new.  Karin says to tell you my favorite book, but I am here to tell you that is impossible!  My favorite book usually depends on what I have read last. But I can share some of my favorites:

  • Under the Never Sky trilogy by Veronica Rossi: she is a writer and has a MFA and it shows. Her words paint pictures in my head like no other author, and her story is a refreshing plot in the land of YA.
  • Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi: same with Tahereh, she has a marvelous way with words, and a unique writing style in this series.
  • Harry Potter: duh.
  • Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan: really, all of his books are great. He has such humor in his writing.
  • I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. Really all of Jandy’s stuff. She is AMAZING

 

Now on to pretending to be crafty *insert shrug emoji*

I couldn’t choose, so I will give one food related, one beauty, and one crafty one.

First, FOOD!  I call these my ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-cherry coke cupcakes (yes, that is SUNG like cherry bomb).

img_2307

mmmm, cupcakes

This started with a recipe from the dreaded land of Pinterest. I found the recipe to be ridiculously complicated for a DCdiva like me. Cake made from scratch, special coke float icing. Not happening here.

I used a Pillsbury Devil’s Food cake. I replaced 3/4 cup of water from the recipe with coke, and about 1/4 of the water with cherry juice.  So I just added enough water to get the amount of water required (about a 1/2 cup, making 1 1/2 cups of liquid total). For the icing I used Betty Crocker whipped fluffy white.  The recipe says to put about 5 cherries into each cupcake. The first time I tried this I put 3 halves and it was just too much, so I don’t add them at all.  I would say if you still wanted to try and add cherries to the batter, make sure you chop them finely. Otherwise you follow the rest of the baking instructions for your cake mix. I topped them off with stemmed cherries. FYI: adding stemmed cherries necessitates refrigeration, but I am quite fond of the icing when refrigerated. It is your choice. Easy peasy. Even I can do it.

 

Next, beauty.  Unicorn nails!

blogger-image-1830715147

Bling yourself up unicorn style for the upcoming holidays!  Really this is just like 100 layers of different kinds of glitter polish. You start with a shimmery iridescent color and do two coats. Next is a fine glitter coat. Then top of with a light catching chunky glitter. If you want to see the types of polish I used (it has been FOREVER) you can follow this to my now dead blog to see all the polishes I tried.

Next, crafty!  So, I still casually collect toys.  Around 2005-2008 I collected My Little Pony heavily.  I have a MLP tattoo (old school G3 style).  And I made custom ponies.  Alas, this was before kids, and I had to dig DEEP to find these pics!

dscn4811

Pumpkin Spice Pony

This gem was made in 2009. I started off with a base pony from Target that was already orange.  Nail polish remover easily removes cutie marks.  Then the gruesome task of removing her head and pulling out all of the hair.  Rehaired her with some doll hair I bought online, and I molded the corset, hoof warmers, and boots from hubs Warhammer clay I snatched from him.  After letting it set I gave it a coat of paint and voila! (and I vamped up her eyelashes lol)

 

And, as a bonus, I could leave out “The Most Awesomest Pony Ever, Pimp Pony Destro.”

dscn4073

Pimpin Ain’t Easy.

LONG story short, at the time I was into ponies, but husband was an avid GI Joe collector, so much so he had attended several GI Joe conventions, and 2008 was my first trip along.  Destro is a bad guy, and this particular version of him was called “Pimp Daddy Destro” by all the collectors.  This was the first time I really went for molding and painting, and it is still my proudest achievement.  I spent hours and weeks matching the pony to every detail of the figure. I even entered it in the custom contest, though this was before the age of the Brony, so god forbid a girl enter a pony!  But it was featured on the front page of Toy News and the GI Joe designers even snapped a pic that went back with them to headquarters!  Below are likely too many pics of the process (seriously, have any other guests just blown up your blog like this Karin?)

Here are entirely too  many pics of Pimp Pony’s progress.

 

 

Hope you enjoyed Sarah’s post of randomness.  I saved the bits I had to cut, so perhaps you’ll be seeing more of me soon!

This entry was posted in crafts, Guest post, recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just a domestic(ally) challenged diva

  1. naelany says:

    Hi Sarah! Thank you for being my guest. That’s so cool that they took pics of your pony and put it on their front page. Gotta wonder what they did with it over at GI Joe’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

