One Step At a Time and Pecan Pie

One step at a time. That’s how my week has gone. Without much reading, or crafting, and no writing. I did, however, end up baking. It was my sister-in-law’s birthday on Friday and hubby and I made her dinner. Well, he made her dinner, I baked her favorite pie: pecan.

The recipe I used was from a weekly pamflet/ad from Market of Choice from a few years ago and it’s the second time I’ve used it. Both times they have come out perfect (and if my sister-in-law’s reaction is to be believed, it’s food-gasmic).

Butter Pecan Pie with Shortbread Crust

Crust:

1 ½ cup flour

3 tbsp sugar

¾ cup butter, softened

1 tsp real vanilla (I used vanilla sugar)

Pinch of salt

In a mixer bowl, combine flour and sugar. Add softened butter, vanilla, and salt and mix until it resembles coarse crumbs and starts to cling together (aprox. 3 min.). Be careful not to over mix. Hand press dough evenly into 9″ pie plate covering bottom and sides extending beyond rim for fluted edge.

Note: Dough can be made a day in advance and stored in the fridge. If refrigerated, bring to room temperature before forming crust.

Trim any excess dough and pinch around the top to form a fluted edge. Using a fork, pole holes (dock) in the bottom and sides of the crust, to help the dough keep its shape while baking. Cut strips of foil and cover the fluted edges to prevent them from over browning. Bake crust at 325F for 7 min.

Tip: Excess dough can be rolled out and cut into leaves using a cookie cutter, Leaves can be used to decorate the top of the pie. Bake leaves at 325F for aprox. 7-10 min. Until browned.

Butter Pecan Filling:

3 eggs

1 cup corn syrup

2/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup butter, melted

3 ½ cup pecans, halved

1 tsp vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

Lightly beat eggs with a fork and blend with remaining ingredients. Pour filling into shortbread crust. Cover edges with foil and bake at 325F for 40 min. Remove the foil and bake for an additional 25-30 min. Due to oven differences baking time may vary. Bake until filling is set.

Note: Center will be soft but should not be soupy.

Let cool completely (4-6 hours) before serving or store in refrigerator until ready to serve.

Alas, I forgot to take a picture, but believe me, it came out beautifully and I was quite proud of it.

Most people that know me, know that I usually bake my own bread. This summer I’ve been lax with it because it’s been too hot and I wasn’t doing so well, so baking went by the wayside. Normally, I bake in the morning. Today, I had to bake bread for the first time in a while… And I didn’t start until late afternoon. Oops. Good thing I already intended to stay up later tonight, or I’d be screwed. Have come to realize something – again – though. I really, really need to make myself an apron.

About naelany

writer, knitter, avid TV-show watcher, friend.
This entry was posted in recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

