Plan Like a Boss

Hello, all! Thank you so much for joining me here today, and a huge thank you to Karin for having me. My name is Charlie Cochet and I’m a published author with Dreamspinner Press. I write everything from paranormal romance to science fiction, to fantasy and contemporary. Right now I’m busy writing more of my THIRDS series.

I’ve always been a crafty person. I love doing things with my hands. When I was little I would draw pictures to go with the stories I was writing. These days, I don’t get much time to draw, but I still get to be crafty.

As much as I love writing, it’s hard work. Being an author is tougher than some folks realize. Taking breaks helps me to not burn out. That’s where crafting comes in. Since my spare time is limited, I found a craft I love doing that’s also functional for me. It helps me in my work, but isn’t work. I’m a proud planner addict.

I love technology, but for me there’s nothing like physically holding something and adding that personal touch. There’s also the fact that I need to write things down several times in order to remember them. I love stationary, craft paper, and I probably have more washi tape than any one person needs. I also have several planners which I rotate the use of. I’m currently on a three planner system. I know that sounds crazy, but it makes sense. To me anyway.

A couple of years ago I started using a paper planner because I got tired of having Post It notes all over the place. I had random notebooks and notepads with information scribbled on it. For those that know me, organization is my jam. I need to be organized or my brain refuses to cooperate. Enter paper planner. What happened then was that I realized that everything in my brain that needed to get out, my author stuff, and my personal stuff did not fit in one planner. I sat down and made lists of everything I needed to keep track of. I then worked out which planner suited what.

With so many things going on at once, I quickly realized I needed a brain-dump planner. Somewhere to just get all the information down where I could then sort through it, make sense of it, and organize it. I have an 18 month Erin Condren with vertical layout that works perfect for this. As you can see, it’s sort of messy. Stuff gets repeated and reshuffled, moved to the next day when not completed. This planner has everything. It includes notes, emails, reminders, and serves as that random place where everything gets written down.

ccecplanner

From there things get moved into my Simple Stories Carpe Diem planners.

ccplanners

The Robin’s Egg planner with the Posh set is my author planner. Here I have all my schedules (guest posts, blog tours, cover reveals, giveaways), reminders, swag tracker, marketing info, contacts, ideas, and everything related to me as an author and what I do.

ccauthorplanner

The Persimmon planner with The Reset Girl set is my personal planner. There I keep track of things like appointments, shopping lists, trips, house stuff, etc.

ccpersonalplanner

All three planners get decorated. I do this when I need a little break from writing. I love the Carpe Diem planners sets because you can buy all the coordinating bits and pieces. I have a spinner that houses both Carpe Diem planner accessories. Stickers, inserts, bits and pieces, etc. I have a separate tote for my Erin Condren stickers. I also use craft paper, stickers, cards, and embellishments to decorate the monthly dividers.

ccspinner

I use my planners every day, and always have at least one open in front of me on my desk as I work. Not only do I have everything I need at a glance, but it’s pretty and cheerful. Sometimes I’ll print out photos and stick those in my planners, so they end up not just being a planner, but an album holding memories, something I can keep and look back on.

HELL & HIGH WATER – THIRDS, Book 1

When homicide detective Dexter J. Daley’s testimony helps send his partner away for murder, the consequences—and the media frenzy—aren’t far behind. He soon finds himself sans boyfriend, sans friends, and, after an unpleasant encounter in a parking garage after the trial, he’s lucky he doesn’t find himself sans teeth. Dex fears he’ll get transferred from the Human Police Force’s Sixth Precinct, or worse, get dismissed. Instead, his adoptive father—a sergeant at the Therian-Human Intelligence Recon Defense Squadron otherwise known as the THIRDS—pulls a few strings, and Dex gets recruited as a Defense Agent.

Dex is determined to get his life back on track and eager to get started in his new job. But his first meeting with Team Leader Sloane Brodie, who also happens to be his new jaguar Therian partner, turns disastrous. When the team is called to investigate the murders of three HumaniTherian activists, it soon becomes clear to Dex that getting his partner and the rest of the tightknit team to accept him will be a lot harder than catching the killer—and every bit as dangerous.

On sale for $1.99 through the month of September at Amazon.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Charlie_Cochet_by_madison_parker150Charlie Cochet is an author by day and artist by night. Always quick to succumb to the whispers of her wayward muse, no star is out of reach when following her passion. From adventurous agents and sexy shifters, to society gentlemen and hardboiled detectives, there’s bound to be plenty of mischief for her heroes to find themselves in, and plenty of romance, too!

Currently residing in Central Florida, Charlie is at the beck and call of a rascally Doxiepoo bent on world domination. When she isn’t writing, she can usually be found reading, drawing, or watching movies. She runs on coffee, thrives on music, and loves to hear from readers.

Website | THIRDS HQ | Facebook | Facebook Author Page | Twitter | Pinterest | Tumblr | Instagram | Newsletter | DSP |Amazon |Goodreads

THIRDS-Series-Banner

SERIES READING ORDER

Hell & High Water (THIRDS, Book 1)
Blood & Thunder (THIRDS Book 2)
Rack & Ruin (THIRDS, Book 3)
Rise & Fall (THIRDS, Book 4)
Against the Grain (THIRDS, Book 5)
Smoke & Mirrors (THIRDS, Book 7)
Thick & Thin (Sequel to Smoke & Mirrors)

Press-Kit

Check out the THIRDS on Pinterest.

GIVEAWAY

One winner will receive their choice of eBook from my current releases. Giveaway ends Sept 30th at midnight (Eastern US Time). To enter just leave a comment below. Do you do any paper crafts? Do you use a planner? What’s your favorite crafty hobby?

About Charlie Cochet

Charlie Cochet is an author by day and artist by night. Always quick to succumb to the whispers of her wayward muse, no star is out of reach when following her passion. From adventurous agents and sexy shifters, to society gentlemen and hardboiled detectives, there’s bound to be plenty of mischief for her heroes to find themselves in, and plenty of romance, too! Currently residing in Central Florida, Charlie is at the beck and call of a rascally Doxiepoo bent on world domination. When she isn’t writing, she can usually be found reading, drawing, or watching movies. She runs on coffee, thrives on music, and loves to hear from readers.
This entry was posted in crafts, Guest post and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Plan Like a Boss

  1. naelany says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Charlie! Wow, that’s a lot of planning and a lot of lovely paper crafting 😉 Love it.
    I don’t really do paper crafts, at least not currently. I’ve been known to do papercutting (a Danish craft, I think… silhouette cutting? Maybe?) back in the day. My favorite craft will always be knitting, I think. It’s the one I’ve done the longest, and the one I come back to time and again.

    Like

    • Thanks so much for having me! I’m always amazed by folks who can knit and sew. I’m certainly not crafty in that department. I my sewing prowess pretty much extends to sewing on a button. LOL

      Like

      • naelany says:

        lol I’m uber-novice with the sewing so I feel ya. Knitting I’ve done for 30-odd years. Mind, I still have ton to learn there, too 😉 You can learn, too, I’m pretty sure. Never too late

        Like

  2. Heather Reed says:

    I love Charlie Cochet’s books!!

    Like

  3. I love paper crafts, and seem to always be in the middle of more things than I could possibly complete in my one lifetime…I use planners (have for years and years) but have never used the really pretty ones like these. Maybe i need to upgrade myself! Oh, and I love Charlie’s books too. That’s an important thought to mention!

    Like

  4. Meghan says:

    I use a travelers notebook for planning and art journaling and I love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

