Warning! Picture Heavy Post Ahead

I has a sad. My favorite craft store (locally owned and operated) is closing. The place was my go-to for just about every craft I do. It even had a decent yarn selection, which is always great for a knitter like me. Alas, they are closing their doors after 26 years in business and as such have started their close out sales.

Now, sad I might be (and truly, I am, because the people who worked there actually know their shit and are very friendly and helpful, unlike other stores), but I do like sales. Hubby and I went to check it out on Friday and man, was it busy! I don’t think I’ve ever seen that many people in there before. Granted, I avoid Black Friday shopping like the plague, so I wouldn’t be able to draw a comparison there, but still. Wow.

And yes, we partook of the offerings. I got some yarn (sadly, no pictures of that out of self-preservation as it is destined to be a gift and the person it’s for can see my blog, so you’ll just have to take my word for it. I promise to share at a later date). I could – and absolutely would – have gotten so much more if only we had the money for it, but alas, I had to reign it in.

Hubby, who does beadwork (if you’re lucky and he gives permission, I’ll show it some time. Maybe I can even convince him to do a guest post, what do you think? Should I ask? 😉 ) walked away with loot of his own.

He has plans for these. Oh yes, he has.

He has plans for these. Oh yes, he has.

That was all we got. Maybe if we’re lucky we’ll manage to go back before they close their doors for the very last time, we’ll see.

Then yesterday, hubby and I ended up helping his mom. While he did some physical labor, I did some sorting. Okay, a lot of sorting. So. Much. Sorting. Why? Well, let’s keep it at it needed to be done. I got to pick out what I wanted from the craft stuff I worked through, and boy did I luck out (thanks again, Trina!).

Iron-on transfers and fusable web

Iron-on transfers and fusable web

cross stitch paraphernalia

cross stitch paraphernalia

a lot of hoops

a lot of hoops

a whole lot of DMC thread

white cotton

white cotton

various cotton crochet thread

various cotton crochet thread

and more crochet/cross stitch thread

and more crochet/cross stitch thread

And this wasn’t even a third of the mountain of things I went through. It took a while to do, let me tell ya. Also paying the price for it today, but with a haul like that, I can’t complain too much, I suppose. Though I really could have done without the amount of pain I’m currently in, or the lack of spoons. Especially when all I want to do right now is actually do some crafting… which I don’t have the wherewithal to do at the moment. Go figure, right?

My apologies for the rambling post, by the way, I’m sorry to say that that is also a consequence of lack of spoons and being a little on the foggy side of fibro right now. Hopefully by this time next week, I’ll have some progress to report on my current projects. Until then, craft on, folks.

About naelany

writer, knitter, avid TV-show watcher, friend.
This entry was posted in crafts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Warning! Picture Heavy Post Ahead

  1. It’s so sad when local independent arts and crafts stores have to close. Our old local one (we’ve since moved) closed a couple years ago. It was my one stop shop.
    But wow! That’s a lot of thread!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Framed! | Another Piece of Me

Leave a Reply

