Jack of all trades

“I want you to write a guest blog for me,” she said. “Write about your crafts, reading, writing, photography,” she said. I panicked. It’s one thing to ramble on in your own space, but rambling on in someone else’s…? Yeah, that shit is scary. Thanks, Nae!

My crafts… I don’t even know where to start. Kind of ‘Jack of all trades’ here. I’ve always written. I was about nine or ten years old, had bought my first record (you know, back when records were vinyl) and I was studying the lyrics printed on the inlay. The record was Madonna. Listening to the songs, reading along, with Oxford’s dictionary beside me, I was learning the art of poetry. I’d just started learning English, I had no clue what subtext was. But I was hooked on the idea of writing lyrics/poetry. I have books full of pre-teen angst, teen angst, and the horrors of growing up. I still write, but I’ve moved on from poetry and on to writing stories; short stories, novellas, novels. I’ve even written fanfiction, which is where I got to know Karin. I’ve written fanfiction before this, back before internet was a thing. Back when you had a bunch of pen pals who also wrote fanfiction; and you wrote longhand, took copies, and sent around to your friends for feedback.

IMG_5606

Anatomy.

I’ve been drawing for even longer than I’ve been writing. Though in my early years, my human drawings didn’t always look quite human. I think they were a cross somewhere between a stick figure and two dimensional. I did go to art school at some point. I nailed it, and I learned a few things. Like how to design and sew my own clothes. Wish I had more time to do that. Last thing I made was a dress for my niece. Sadly she grew out of it quickly. Kid is ten and almost as tall as I am, and I’m no shorty.

Reading, my number one thing to do. I’ve been reading Disney comics since before I can remember. Though reading is probably stretching it a bit. I think it was more about looking at the drawings and making up stories in my head to go along with the cartoons. I was introduced to my first book by my homeroom teacher when I was ten. Once a week we had an hour in the library, I was new to the school and it was my first time in the tiniest library known to man. I remember looking at the books and not having a clue about the stories they held or where to start. I think I must have looked really lost because I remember my teacher handing me a book and telling me she knew I would love this one. It was Anne of Green Gables. I was sold. The rest is, as they say, history.

IMG_5443

Trust.

But speaking of drawing. I’ve always drawn people. I think that’s where my fascination for photography comes from. I’ve gone from drawing faces to photographing them. Having been an art student and studied how light works, it helped me in my photography. Both art forms are all about light, direction and what you can work it to your advantage. But they’re both also about capturing moments. Freezing them in time and space. But photography isn’t about light, or just a moment; it’s about emotions it invokes. I remember taking my first photo for my 11th birthday, I just snapped a photo. It was when the photo was developed and I saw what a camera could do that my love for photography was born. I love reading, I love drawing, I love writing – but nothing fills my soul like photography. I love being creative, I love being an artist – but I am photography.

For many photography is about the newest gear. The most expensive gear. Or simply having the most gear. My Nikon D700 that I bought back in 2010 is my workhorse along with my two lenses from 1999. I have newer lenses and actually quite a lot of equipment, but nothing that I love as much as my D700. My Nikon with my ancient lenses is all I need. Everything else is just fancy bonus. I do have equipment envy when it comes to the new D500, but I don’t need it. I just need my workhorse, a willing subject and off I go.

IMG_5608

Elephant in progress.

Anyway, where were we; oh yeah. Writing, drawing, sewing, reading, photography – knitting. I do that too. I don’t crochet, I can, I just don’t love it. I’m currently working on four knitting projects. I get distracted easily, so I do need to have more than one project going on. The thing I’ve knit the most, in various sizes, colours and patterns are hats. They’re a quick knit and what everyone always requests. Right now I’m knitting another hat, a sweater for myself, a Marius sweater (google it) for my sister, and an elephant. When knitting the elephant, the first thing you knit is the body which looks like a weird tennis ball, and the head/trunk. Once you’ve knit the head/trunk and stuffed it, it looks…um…like…oh all right. It looks like a penis. Even my 10 year old niece laughed when she saw it. I’m sure that whoever came up with this pattern had something else in mind other than an elephant…

IMG_5040

Snickerdoodles.

I won’t even go into the cooking, baking, website making or scrapbooking I do. I do those too. But I’m wordy enough as is here. And I don’t want anyone yelling at me for rambling on like an old lady remembering the good ol’ olden days. Speaking of being an old lady, [in bad southern accent] I’mma gonna go and make me some scones right about now. 😀

This entry was posted in Guest post and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Jack of all trades

  1. naelany says:

    Thanks for being my guest, Beate! The elephant made me giggle 😉 Great progress, though.

    Like

  2. Paardje says:

    This person (Beate?) inspires me to branch out. don’t know to where or what but just, branch out! 🙂 And that Marius sweater … my fingers are twitching to put it on my knitting challenge list, but it looks so intricate 😀

    Like

  3. Beate73 says:

    The pattern I have is in Norwegian, but this should help. https://anotherpieceofmeblog.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/img_5619.jpg

    Like

Leave a Reply

