A Piece of Meredith

Hello everyone. It’s a real treat to be here on Karin’s blog today. Strange even. As a blog owner myself I’m usually on the other end of these. So, please be patient with me.

I’ll start with telling you a little about myself. My name is Meredith King and I own a book blog called Diverse Reader. It’s a blog devoted to books. It’s a diverse blog and has a primarily LGBTQ following. Not just LGBTQ but I’d say about 85%.

I’m so very proud of it. I participate in blog tours, reviews, giveaways, guest posts, Top Reads every month, a monthly feature, Saturday Spotlights. I love promoting authors and this blog of mine has grown into something beautiful. You can absolutely check it out here: http://diversereader.blogspot.com/

Now, I read a massive amount of books. Much more than your average reader. I do that primarily because of my blog. I am an approved reviewer for Pride Publishing and Dreamspinner Press so I get a ton of ARC’s there. On top of that I get ARC’s and other already published works from independent authors.

I will tell you the last book I read, that is currently available to buy now. It was called The Queen and the Homo Jock King by TJ Klune. It’s the sequel to Tell Me it’s Real. These books are hilarious. Impeccably written and if you don’t finish with a huge smile and a book hangover, than you’ve done it wrong.

As for my favorite book of all time? I can’t possibly tell you that. What I will tell you are some books I read this year (2016) that have been my most favorite. The High King’s Golden Tongue by Megan Derr, The Queen and the Homo Jock King by TJ Klune, Dom on the Side by Kate Aaron, The Law of Attraction by Jay Northcote, Farm Fresh by Posy Roberts, and I’ll shut it down with Riley Hart’s Crossroads books 1 & 2. These are all LGBTQ books but that’s kinda my thing.

Now onto the crafty part of myself. As a kid I escaped mostly by drawing. Freehand, I’d draw my favorite cartoon characters as you can see below.

I didn’t use anything fancy really. Charcoal pencils and colored pencils mostly. But my drawing kind of stopped. My son however is quite the artist and is leaps and bounds better than I am.

However growing up all us little girls were taught to crochet. I only have a picture of a scarf I made for my friend but I don’t know many neat designs. It serves its purpose though.

scarf

And finally, in my craftiness, when I got married I made ALL my bridesmaid, and my own flowers. Everyone got to keep their own but I happen to have a picture of one of them. Now, I was married 10 years ago and they have kept. No fading, nothing (as you can see). That has A LOT to do with the fact I used a preserve spray. It will keep forever!

flower

I went to a regular craft store bought the holders, then silk flowers and stuck them in. Glued underneath and finished it off with a silk and pearl ribbon. It took forever but I was so happy with them.

So, I’m not Da Vinci or Martha Stewart but I love to dabble. I find crafting, drawing, coloring to be very relaxing and therapeutic.

I really want to thank Karin for letting me blab on about myself and see what it’s like on the other side.

I hope you all craft and read and just enjoy all the things that make you happy.

 

About naelany

writer, knitter, avid TV-show watcher, friend.
This entry was posted in Books, crafts, Crochet, Guest post and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Piece of Meredith

  1. naelany says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Meredith. Love the flowers you did for your wedding 🙂

    Like

  2. Angela says:

    I love your blog and it was nice to get some background info on you 🙂 I have to say that your drawings are really good, you definitely have talent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

